About Us

The department of Educational Administration and Planning was established in 1988 as one of the department in the School of Education (Arts). The department offered courses towards preparation of teachers in areas of curriculum development, educational administration, educational planning and teacher education.

The department also started Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree in the core areas from the onset.

In 1993, the department started the Masters in Education degree programme in the specialiazations mentioned.

Later in 2009, the department in collaboratin with the International Rescue Committee developed the Education in Emergencies Programme and started teaching in 2010.  The programme produced its first graduates in 2012.  The department also developed and launched a Doctorate in Education (EdD) Programme with Coursework.  This runs parallel with our Doctor of Philosophy Programme. 

We have three types of M.Ed programme: Full time, Evening and School Based.  While in  Doctorate in Education (EdD) Programme, we offer Evening and School Based Programme. 

The department is at an advanced stage towards launch of the E-learning mode of delivery.  One of our vision 2030 Flagship Programmes.

Previous Chairmen

Prof. Gerald Kimani Ngugi  1988 - 2001

Dr. Reche George Nkonge 2001 - 2003

 Prof Genevieve Wanjala 2004 - 2008

Dr. Grace Nyagah  June, 2009 to 2nd Feb 2016

Dr. Jeremiah Kalai February,2016 to date



Launch of the Doctorate in Education (Ed. D) in December 2011

Development of eLearning materials

Launching of M.Ed (Educational Administration and Planning) Programme on-line mode on 19th June, 2013